top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Glaive

"Identity Poem" by Elle Mezzio

My identity is all over the place

And I refuse to believe that

Being mixed makes me different

I realize this may be a shock, but

The fact is that I love being a girl

Is a lie, and

Stereotypes matter a lot.

In the future, I will be able to say:

I have my priorities straight because

The outer image

Is more important than

Your true self.

In the future,

Physical identities will be the deciding factor

No longer can it be said that

The world will reach true equality

It will be evident that

People are naturally prejudiced

It is foolish to presume that

All identities can be cherished equally.

And all of this will come true unless we choose to reverse it.

54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Short Story by Chandler McCleskey

The following piece is a continuation piece of the author's submission to the first edition of The Glaive. To view the original submission, please visit the following link: https://eadsnf.wixsite.com/

"The Gravity of the COVID-19 Pandemic" by Andrew Wyatt

In the dawn of time, when the Bing Bang led to the expansion of the universe, there proved to be a constant theme in which matter perpetually coalesced to form something larger than itself. The hot, d

bottom of page